Closing Plenary – Preparing for Montreal in 2014

Scientific Committee Chairs Delia Rodriguez-Amaya and Rickey Yada hosted the Closing Plenary Session to end the 16th IUFoST World Congress here in Iguassu Falls, Brazil. With this Congress coming to an end it was only appropriate to recognize the events to come. ‘Looking Ahead’ with Past President, David Lineback, the future will involve further ‘Collaboration’ between all facets of Food Science and Technology. David Lineback highlighted the fact that it will take a collaborative effort of Academia, Industry and Government to continue progressing into the future.

Ireland Wins bid for 18th World Congress in 2016

The President of the Institute of Food Science and Technology of Ireland (IFSTI), Rory Ryan won his Institute’s bid to host the 18th World Congress in 2016.

Pingfan Rao at “Meet the Leaders of Today and Tomorrow”

Pingfan Rao spoke in Sunday’s “Meet the Leaders of Today and Tomorrow” session about the importance of recognizing not only what your strengths and passions are, but also recognizing the areas that aren’t suited to you.

IUFoST- ICSU Symposium- Unravelling the Globesity Puzzle

From left: Sergio Pastrana (ICSU VP External Affairs), Lucy Sun Hwang (National Taiwan University), Ibrahim Elmadfa (IUNS President – University of Vienna)

Mary Schmidl on “Globesity”

University of Minnesota’s Prof. Mary Schmidl spoke Wednesday about the issue of “Globesity,” a talk that centered around the question that everyone would like to know- who is to blame?

A Word with the President of IUFoST

The President of IUFoST, Geoffrey Campbell-Platt was asked to make a statement on the theme of the Congress ‘Global Food Security and Wellness through Food Science and Technology’

22 New Fellows have been elected to the International Academy of Food Science and Technology

The International Union of Food Science and Technology is proud to present the eighth class of outstanding food scientists and technologists to be elected to the International Academy of Food Science and Technology (IAFoST).

The 22 New Fellows are:

Jaime Amaya – Farfan (Brazil)

Ogugua Charles Aworh (Nigeria)

Hongda Chen (USA)

Roger Clemens (USA)

Industry Leaders Summit: Addressing Industry’s Role in Food Security, Top Challenges in a Global Economy

From left: Lim Chee Kian, President, Yi Prime Pte Limited, Singapore; Michael Knowles, VP, Coca-Cola; Diana Banati, ILSI Europe Executive Director; Randy Giroux, VP Food Safety, Quality and Regulatory Compliance, Cargill

Young Scientist Lecture – Dr. Cornelia Rauh

Glaucia Maria Pastore (Brazil) presents Young Scientist Award Winner Cornelia Rauh (Germany) with a certificate of recognition


User login